Daplyn triumph



 Great swimming at the Herts ASA Daplyn Trophy which Hemel entered for the first time for many years saw the Girls A team of Izzy Anderton, Eleanor Bevan, Shona McKenna, Georgia Purkis and Amber Stratford, taking victory in the girls competition and the Boys A team of Joe Coldwell, Jonny Farrow, Harrison Mills, Mattias Morse and Luke Pestaille finishing third in the boys competition. The Boys B team was 7th and the Girls B team was 10th. daplyn 2015 girls a 
   The Hemel Girls A team with the Daplyn trophy and Team Manager Lauren Wilding
The Daplyn Trophy is a Team event for U14 boys and girls in Hertfordshire.  The competition is named after Bob Daplyn, a past President of Hertfordshire Swimming Association and Watford Swimming Club.

The event is part swimming competition and part disco, with flashing lights, music and dancers – there are lots more pictures on the Club’s Facebook page here.  Teams from Berkhamsted, Harpenden, Hertford, Hoddesdon, Stevenage, Watford and Welwyn competed alonsgide Hemel.  A team comprises five members, each of whom has to swim an individual race before four of them swim in 4 X 50m free and medley relays.  Points are awarded not only for race position but for swimming over 10m underwater at the starts and turns of a race

daplyn 2015 boys a
The Hemel Boys A team with their bronze medals and Team Manager Alan Coldwell
The Girls A team were dominant throughout, winning two of their individual events and both relays with their lead increasing every time the positions were announced.  The Boys A team success was less expected with only one win in the individual events which saw them lying in fifth place prior to the relays where a strong performance saw them jump to third at the end of the competition.

The Girls B team of Tilly Beckwith, Lois Emery, Charlotte Hingston, Olivia Kerr and Jess Walters only secured one individual win but their final position was bolstered by a strong performance in the relays where they won both of their heats.  The Boys B team comprised Lewis Clark, Mason Mills, Manas Kubal, Tyler O’Brien and Sam Ward.

daplyn 2015 all swimmers

Leave a Reply


We are a competitive sport club - with our swimmers competing at all levels from local team galas to National and European events.