Hemel’s 2016 Spring Development Meet


Hemel swimmers had an outstanding weekend at the Club’s annual Spring Development Meet alonsgide swimmers from Berkhamsted, Bishops Stortford, Bushey, Chesham, Milton Keynes, St Albans, Harpenden, Hertsmere, Hoddesdon, Putteridge, Verulam, Watford and Welwyn.  The meet is designed primarily to give younger, less experienced swimmers an opportunity to compete against competition from other clubs, but with almost 90% of swims being personal bests or first time swims, and no fewer than 31 consideration times for the 2017 County Championship being achieved along with a new age group record for Holly Robinson in the 100 fly there were some significant individual performances. The atmosphere at the meet was fantastic with both swimmers and parents noisily supporting their friends in the pool.
Congratulations to Natasha Acres, Seyi Bankoli, Tilly Beckwith, Darshith Biju, Teddy Bowden, Kieran Brevern, Neil Brevern, Luke Carl, Cameron Clark, Lewis Clark, Elliott Davies, Lois Emery, Lois Goad, Kyle Holmes, Daniel Keates, Joseph Kelly, Ciaran Kilbane, Rohan Liddar, Evie Lyons, Niall Marsden, Rayne Marsh, Freya McDonagh, Tyler O’Brien, Nathan Parker, Vanessa Parker, Matthew Rafiq-Craske, Shaminah Sherwani-Keeling, Ben Smith, Amber Stratford, Tilly Stratford, Sam Ward, Samuel Warner, Nathan Whiting and Madison Wiles, all of whom won gold medals.

Some of the most noteworthy improvements were set by Kizzie Beckwith (21 seconds on the 100 free), Tijana Catchpole (26 seconds on the 200 breast), Mia Hobson (32 seconds on the 200 free), Elizabeth Kelly (20 seconds on the 200 free), Henry Newbury-Kemp (21 seconds, on the 100 back, 29 seconds on the 200 free and 30 seconds on the 200 IM) and Emily Young (31 seconds on the 200 free and a staggering 57 seconds on the 200 IM!).  Other significant improvements were posted by Maisie Adams, Neil Brevern, Seve Carrillo de Albornoz, Kate Cresswell, Lois Goad, Aaron Harburn, Daniel Keates, Dylan Kennell, Katie-Fleur Lodge, Evie Lyons, Niall Marsden, Mattias Morse, Sveta Nanda, Nathan Parker, Georgie Pearce, Matthieu Perrault, Zara Rafiq-Craske, Tilly Stratford and Sam Ward.

Many thanks to all the helpers and officials who made it possible fpr us to hold this competition.

Leave a Reply


We are a competitive sport club - with our swimmers competing at all levels from local team galas to National and European events.